Menswear Singapore

menswear-singaporeSingapore is such a hot country with ‘summer’ season whole year round. With that, I realized that I’ve almost completely stopped buying casual shirts and pants when I go shopping for my menswear in Singapore. Tees and shorts with slippers are my weekend outfit almost every weekend. Infact I can’t even remember the last time I wore a long sleeve shirt with pants on the weekend. I don’t even bother checking out the latest men’s shirt design in retail or online stores when I go shopping on the weekend.

T-shirts and to a certain extent, singlets (or tank tops),have took over as the majority part of the menswear that made up my wardrobe. I find myself shopping for tees and shorts when I shop online or in retail stores. Both print and basic tees have been routinely switched based on the function or thing I will be doing that weekend.

In this post I will share some of the shops I frequent to get my t-shirts and tank tops from. I will also share some of my favourite brands when it comes to these items.

Bonus: I visit http://www.menswearsingapore.com for the latest fashion tips and trends in Singapore. Be sure to check their site out.

When im in town, I will make sure to check out these places for tees and if they are running any sale on the items I was eyeing earlier. Zara have really nice printed tees while Topman have one of the best basic print designed tees (those prints. For basic essential tees, I go for Muji, Topman, Pull & Bear and even Uniqlo. For basic tees with simply patterns like stripes or polka dots or even checked, I head to Muji and Cotton-on.

Town is probably the best place to shop for these brands. I usually start from Plaza Singapura (sometimes I buy llao llao to eat before walking over to Orchard), and make my way down to Orchard Central. At Orchard Central, be sure to drop by Orchard Gateway that is just beside Central. They have quite a few menswear shops. I also drop by Multi-label boutiques like Actually and Naiise to shop around. Sometimes I also check out Under Armour to see if they have anything new or list anything on sale. I used to go PACT as well to see if Sifr have any sale running (but I heard that they are closing  down already). After Orchard Gateway I will head over to Somerset 313 where I shop for Zara, Uniqlo and Muji (at the basement).

Next stop would be crossing the road to Robinsons level 4, menswear section. After which to Tangs’ menswear section and eventually to Wisma and then Ion. Ion have almost all the brands mentioned. I usually do my final buy (if any) at Ion. I used to drop by Paragon to check out Raoul too, but since they are gone now, there’s really nothing much. I’ve also stopped buying from A&F due to their too often sale that caused everyone on the street to be wearing A&F.

When I shop online, I visit these e-commerce sites very often because of the cheap or free shipping fees to Singapore. Most of these shops carry brands that are not available in Singapore, or are sold at a much cheaper price compared to what the retail stores are selling here.

Some online sites I always check out are: ASOS.com, Urban Outfitters, Revolve Clothing, Snort Label, Zalora and East Dane. I’ve stopped shopping at Lazada as I think their fashion items are more limited and the items can sometimes be higher than retail stores.I don’t shop on Amazon as well simply because the site’s interface just doesn’t appeal to me when I’m shopping for clothes there.

I’m still very much passionate about fashion and will still be excited to see any new menswear Singapore labels emerging here. Looking at the declining number of stores and brands, I’m not keeping my hopes high. Meanwhile perhaps all I can do is hope the brands and shop I’m currently shopping at will stock better and nicer designs and collection (not just sell what’s in trend or in demand or have the biggest profit margin).

Do try my shopping route the next time you guys are in town for your Singapore menswear shopping. Also do check out the online stores mentioned. You might just find something that is either special or are selling at very good deal. Happy shopping!

Leave a comment